Heart felt

Three years ago my husband had open heart surgery. It was a dark time but it feels like a lifetime ago and he is happy and healthy now.  I wanted to celebrate the fact that he made it and so every year I decided to present him with a little gift.  It is affectionately known as the “thank god you aren’t dead” gift.

For the first anniversary, I made ‘Heart Felt’, a small piece of embroidery.  It is based on an anatomical illustration of the heart.  I used a gorgeous piece of German felt I bought years ago, it is such a lovely colour with flecks of light and dark grey running through it.  It’s very simple, just using back stitch throughout, no fancy stitching here. The colours are a good combination I think and of course I had to add the +1.

IMG_2353_2

IMG_2354_2

8 thoughts

  1. I love this so much Kate. My evie has had open heary surgery too – I would love to do something the same. xx

    Like

Leave a comment