The sweater dress re-run

I try not to make the same pattern over and over again.  This is mainly due to the number of awesome pattern makers out there who design such beautiful patterns, most of which, I am desperate to try.

However, I made an exception here.

I made this dress for the first time last winter when I was freezing in Sydney.  No-one ever believes it’s cold in Sydney.  I suppose by the Northern Hemisphere standards, it’s not.  It’s just that we aren’t set up for it and it often takes us by surprise.  We are also often without central heating which means I needed to wear a blanket the entire time just to function.

This is the equivalent of said blanket, you can read all about this make here.

IMG_9407

Onto my latest make.

The fabric:

I spotted the fabric in Faberwood’s online shop and ordered it after seeing Fiona (Queen Faberwood) wearing this pencil skirt.  Check out her blog post all about it.  How cool is that?

Ikasyr-skirt-01
Photo: Faberwood

I am generally not a stripe kinda girl (I am sure there will be a collective intake of breathe here). I like a stripe but I don’t often wear them.  This is a stripe fabric that I could not resist, a stripe on the diagonal.  It has that Scandinavian contemporary cool feel about it.

The quality is exceptional.  Something that I can always rely on with Fiona’s collections. The fabric is by Finnish brand, Ikasyr. It’s an organic jersey, mid weight stretch with great recovery.

My favourite part about this transaction was that Fiona delivered it to my Mum’s house in the UK (our Mum’s live minutes apart!)  It was then passed to my in-laws and then brought over to Australia on their recent visit.  It’s amazing what my family will do for my love of fabric.

The sleeve fabric was from The Cloth Shop in Melbourne, a super yummy grey stretch. I bought this piece many moons ago.  It’s such good quality, I am kicking myself that I didn’t buy more.

The pattern:

The Sweater Dress by In the Folds (for Peppermint Magazine) is a favourite.  It was designed specifically with me in mind (it wasn’t, but I like to think so).  It’s such an easy dress to wear, an easy dress to make and it fits me just perfectly.  Oh yes, and it’s free!

As this is a re-run, I made no changes.  I cut a straight size 10.  I would normally grade out to a 12 but there is some volume around the hips which works for me.  It also has pockets and as with my first attempt, they sit flat!

Here it is;

IMG_3432
It’s such an easy dress to wear, I put a layer or two underneath for extra warmth.
IMG_3421
No pattern matching here!

 

IMG_3407

IMG_3426
Super happy with the fabric and the sleeve fabric matches a treat.

The added extra:

There is always the odd off-cut or scrap piece.  This is particularly helpful when you have a 5 year old.  He asked me for a Batman outfit for the school disco, who am I to refuse?

I managed to get a pair of True Bias, Mini Hudson shorts and a Titchy Threads, Safari Raglan tee from my scraps. Of course, there was no pattern matching, nothing like it infact.  The stripes are going off in all sorts of slightly odd angles. He doesn’t care and so neither do I.

I even rolled out the freezer paper and dabbed on some fabric paint for that Batman logo.  Such an easy process, it’s quite addictive. For a quick ‘how to’ check out Wendy’s blog and for some major inspiration, check out Shelley’s blog, she is the master of freezer paper stencils.

Of course a little cape was required so I added some velcro to the tee and some elastic to  the arms so he could do some proper flapping,  which he did, endlessly!

Screen Shot 2017-06-25 at 4.36.09 pm
Here he is with his buddies at the school disco (thanks for the photo Kristie!)

Maybe just one more sweater dress before the winter is out….

x

3 thoughts on “The sweater dress re-run”

Leave a Reply

