I love a sweatshirt! (again)

I have written a few posts about my love of the humble sweatshirt (here , hereherehere & here). I seem to make a lot of them for me and the kids. They are easy to make and even easier to wear. So, as the seasons begin to change and it starts to cool down (if only very slightly), I made my first sweatshirt of the season.

I usually draft my own sweatshirt pattern but I thought this time I would try a pattern I have had my eye on for a while.  It’s the Named Clothing Sloane Sweatshirt.

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 9.41.03 pm

I like this pattern for a number of reasons. Firstly, I really like that it’s not raglan! I know that is blasphemy in my book, but I wanted to change it up a bit. The second reason is that it has these enormous bust darts. A strange addition to a sweatshirt but I like the detail and I was curious about how it would work.

It’s a very easy make. A good one for those trying knits for the first time. I chose a navy blue sweatshirt fabric and some marle blue ribbing from my stash, both pre-loved pieces from the charity shop. I decided to make the sleeves from a small piece of cotton/silk I found on the Tessuti Fabric Remnant table. I am told it is Liberty, but I am not 100% sure. There was just enough for these sleeves.

It would have been an easy make if I wasn’t attaching silk to stretch! I had a couple of goes at the arm holes to make sure it was a smooth edge. It’s not perfect but I think it’s fine. I probably should have done more research on how to work with a silk and a stretch. But patience isn’t my strong suit, so I ploughed on.

I like the bust dart, it adds an interesting feature and it was easy to do.


I think the contrast of the ribbing works well here.

  

Overall I am really pleased with the result.  I cut the smallest size and it fits well.  It’s not as ‘baggy’ as I normally wear, it’s a bit more feminine.  That is not a criticism.  The only tweak I made was to the neckband.  The ribbing I used is super stretchy, so I reduced the length and also the width, it felt a little clunky so I knocked at least an inch off.

I know I will wear this loads, but I also know that as a delicate silk/cotton fabric and my ‘fairy elephant’ tendencies (Mum’s words not mine),  it probably won’t last as long as I would like.  I will try to be gentle, I will try…

5 thoughts on “I love a sweatshirt! (again)”

Leave a Reply

