My raglan journey continues with ‘The Rushcutter’

I first spotted this pattern when Emily at In the Folds started the countdown to her Rushcutter dress launch!  A raglan sleeve and big pockets, my two favourite things!

Screen Shot 2016-01-26 at 9.52.52 pm

Since then I have met Emily in the flesh, we live very close to each other and I would say that we have become firm friends (even though she is years younger and way cooler than me!)

Screen Shot 2016-01-26 at 9.59.40 pm
The Gingers Unite! Ridiculous selfie on our first meeting.

The reason for my delay in starting this project is that I have been wanting to find the right fabric.  Emily is a big believer in second hand fabric, she is interested in who made your clothes and who sewed them together.  She introduced me to Fashion Revolution and made me think about my wardrobe and the nature of fashion consumption.  So, in order to make the perfect Rushcutter, the fabric had to be second hand at the very least!

So here it is, a bold choice with a vintage twist. Perhaps it was once a curtain?  Who knows, but I love it.  Baby pink and lemon yellow, a gingers’ dream!  It has lots of movement and a lovely drape, I want to say it’s a brocade?  It’s hard to know when it’s a charity store find, but when a $5 price tag is attached, it’s hard to say no. Would love a second option though, anyone?? I knew it would be a bugger to sew and I was right.

IMG_6564

I chose view A, I really like this version, I am a sucker for a three quarter length sleeve. As you know I love big pockets but I decided against pockets in the end. I cut out inseam pockets but then felt they weren’t needed with this dressier fabric.

I was a little apprehensive starting this project.  As I now know Emily, I really wanted this to be a special make and most of all, I wanted her pattern to be great.

There was no need to worry, this pattern is a joy in itself. Some serious thought has gone into producing the pattern and the instructions, it is incredibly detailed.  It’s the little things that make it good, like the notches (see photo below), the cheat sheet and the photographic instructions which don’t assume, they hold your hand if you need it.  It’s all backed up with tutorials on her website too.

So onto the make! As I am a big raglan sleeve fan I was interested in seeing how these sleeves were constructed.  There are shoulder darts on the raglan sleeve, I have never seen or done that before.  It adds a lovely shaping to the shoulder area.

IMG_6609

The front panel is broken down into two sections with this really lovely curved seam. I was a bit worried about getting this right but it worked, even with this fabric.

IMG_6605

The zip was my only issue. Invisible zips are fairly new to me, it’s not quite invisible but I totally blame the fabric for that as it was such a slippery sucker.  I overstretched the fabric while inserting it and ended up with this. An easy fix by just trimming it down at one side, but it did mean my zip finished too high.  I have since cut down the top of the zip and added a hook and eye to finish. Not a major issue, maybe a stabiliser would have helped here.

IMG_6438

I did manage to match the horizontal seams though, thanks to a nifty little trick in the instructions.

IMG_6610

A favourite little touch was the bias binding inside.  I found this vintage yellow binding in a charity shore in Byron Bay some months back, it is the perfect match!

IMG_6411

I went a bit crazy and added it to the neckline, cuffs and hemline.  It looks neat in these sections but I have to say there were a couple of slip ups.  I won’t be beating myself up about that though, overall it looks good and I do like the odd flash of yellow you get now and again.

IMG_6622

So here it is!  I cut a size B and because of my height (I am 5ft 3) I reduced the hem by about 10cm.  I also reduced the three-quarter length sleeves by 5cm too.  I made no other adjustments to the fit.  The pattern specifies that there is plenty of ease which as you can see works really well for me.  Often with a small top half I never get a good fit on the bottom area, it works perfectly for my pear-shaped proportions.

IMG_6581
Just admiring my new Gorman shoes!
IMG_6573
Excuse the sunnies, it was very bright!

IMG_6577

IMG_6576

IMG_6575

So, the first of many I suspect.  I am already on the look out for some denim.  I am excited about the possibilities, changing up the front panel and experimenting with the pocket options. I wonder if I could make this in stretch? I digress…

I love my new frock and I especially love the baby pink and lemon yellow fabric. What is happening to me?

 

17 thoughts

  1. That fabric is very special and unique, I love it! And Makes me want to sew a version with sleeves as well! Am thinking of making one in a thick knit, one with little stretch, for winter.

    Like

  2. Sorry for the tardy response…
    This dress is amazing in all respects. The fabric, pattern, sewing skills & styling. You look like you’re out of a Gorman catalogue. You and Emily make a great team!

    Like

  3. I absolutely love this dress on you. If this fabric was curtains in previous life, it got a second chance of life as something ridiculously awesome! I love the shape of this dress. I think this dress will look ah-mazing in denim!

    Like

Leave a Reply

