2015 – the round up!

IMG_5975

2015 has been a big year for me!  I started my blog back in April and I have been loving it.  A little ‘post happy’ to begin with, but I think I have calmed down a bit in recent months!

I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to round off the year with some of my favourite makes and finds, then talk about my resolutions for 2016.

Oh, it’s like the Sewing Oscars, but without anyone else competing or judging! (So nothing like the Oscars then!)

MAKE OF THE YEAR

IMG_3828

A tough choice, but it has to be my culottes. The first time I had really ever attempted a trouser and I was surprised at how simple they were to make. They have also been given loads of exposure, I found them on Kollabora, Best of 2015 Collection the other day – how cool is that!

GIFT OF THE YEAR (A.K.A unselfish sewing!)

IMG_4551

Strange category I know, but I have made so many clothes for others this year that I thought it deserved a category of it’s own! No contest really, it has to be this gilet! I loved making this for Dad, even though he says it weighs a ton!

CHARITY SHOP SCORE OF 2015

IMG_6080

IMG_6081

A couple of items spring to mind! A $5 tee with cute little crowns is first on this list. I bought it with the idea of refashioning it for Bertie. Once I had tried it on there was no way it was going anywhere other than my wardrobe.

The second piece is this rockin’ 1980’s jacket. A minor amend to the shoulders to remove the Krystal Carrington-like shoulder pads and this $35 jacket is a winner!

VINTAGE SCORE OF 2015

IMG_6083

I bought this rockin’ kimono in Berkhamsted with ‘Bride of the Year’ (A.K.A Bev!) I love the shape and the fabric is so beautiful. I wear it endlessly and it makes me feel glamorous, when I quite clearly am not!  Most importantly it reminds me of Bev and our little shopping trip the day before her wedding.  Happy times.

REFASHION OF THE YEAR

IMG_3918

IMG_5496

I can’t decide between these two makes. The white shirt was a triumph as I was determination not to waste the original shirt I made. I am so glad that it turned out so well.  I even made it onto the Makery blog, thanks to refashion and sewing guru, Portia.

The kimono was part of my Christmas present challenge, a fairly minor refashion, just removing a panel and some length. But it’s fab! Shame it’s not mine anymore. Boo hoo!

FABRIC OF THE YEAR

IMG_5565

I love a charity store fabric find and this one is so special. A lovely piece of screen printed drill cotton. I love the colour, the shapes and the fact that this was a test piece (I think!) Find of the year for sure, lucky me!

But just for ‘shits and giggles’ here are a few runners up…

IMG_6088-2

SEWING PATTERN OF THE YEAR

IMG_4608

Well, it has to be the Henry Dress from Brooklyn Pattern Company.  Having made a fair amount of dresses and a skirt hack, it seems only right.  I also LOVE this pattern with it’s square neckline, puff sleeves and giant pockets.  Just waiting on the grown-up version now!

MOST WORN PIECE OF THE YEAR

IMG_4188

It’s this ottoman top. I knew it would be as soon as I had finished it.  I think it’s the most versatile piece in my wardrobe. I found this fabric in a Berkhamsted, along with my kimono. It’s such a cracking fabric, the colours are so beautiful. It’s also a hack of my DRESS OF THE YEAR pattern, its clearly a winner!

LEAST WORN PIECE OF THE YEAR

IMG_3674

Not sure there should be a category for duffers but it’s not altogether a failure. Surprisingly it’s this Burda top. I really love the shape and I particularly love the fabric but I can’t find anything to wear it with so it sits alone in my wardrobe. 2016 is the year that I find a friend for this top, maybe a charcoal or denim pencil skirt? Answers on a postcard please!

DRESS OF THE YEAR


It has to be my lobster dress, it’s the fabric, it gets me every time! The simplicity of the pattern, shape and combination of fabrics makes this my favourite. It is also one of my first refashions. I pulled apart a 1950’s style dress, which made me look like a cupcake, turning it into this modern and more flattering shape. I wear it A LOT. I get stopped in the street and have had many lobster conversations because of it!

CHALLENGES FOR 2016

I am no good at New Years Resolutions.  If I had set any it would be ‘no chocolate’ for 2016.  Unfortunately, it’s only New Years Day and that resolution is already out of the window, so lets move on.

Here are my four sewing resolutions….

  1. What I would like is to be a more conscious shopper. Seriously considering what I am buying, do I need it and what are the ethical implications of the item. I plan on buying second hand or vintage and wearing homemade as much as possible.
  2. I would like to try my hand at menswear. I am the only woman in our house, I don’t even have a girl pet! I think I should perhaps embrace this concept once in a while, maybe I will start with something for the hubbie. I bought the Colette Negroni shirt pattern today, maybe this is a good place to start.   I would also like to make some more interesting pieces, something that my pre-teen boys would happily wear.
  3. I want to slow down! I get so excited about fabric and patterns that I sew at break-neck speed. Time for reflection I think.
  4. Last but not least, I want to reduce the fabric stash! No new fabric. Yes I know, that’s on every sewers list but I would really like to try… (Well, I will, once I have spent my Christmas Tessuti voucher!)

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

 

11 thoughts on “2015 – the round up!”

  1. Oh you had a cracker year!! But I can’t believe that Burda top isn’t worn! Not even with skinny jeans? How devastating, since I also dream of making this one up. I adore your dress of the year too, so fun. I’ve also made up the Negroni for my hubby. It’s a great shirt, but he ended up requesting a regular collar next time. The Negroni has a “camp collar” no collar stand. But he does love his and still wears it heaps 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks Jillian! I know the Burda top is so lovely but it does give me an excuse to find a creative solution – pencil skirt? Ginger jeans? 2016 is the year to wear the unworn! Looking forward to starting the negroni, I will go with the regular collar as suggested, I think he would prefer that too! Just need to find 20m of fabric, being the giant that he is! Lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

