Is this the perfect tee for kids?

I think I have found the perfect tee for kids.  It’s the Rowan Tee pattern from Titchy Threads.

I love sewing in stretch but it’s only recently that I have felt I could truly do it well.  When I say ‘recently’ what I mean is, this tee makes me think I can sew well in stretch!

I made a very basic short sleeved tee with ribbed neckline, but it doesn’t have to be that simple. There are so many add ons, apparently there are 144 combinations.  So, if you fancy a hood or an arm stripe, long or short sleeves, cuffs, kangaroo pocket or patch pocket then this is the pattern for you.

The instructions are very easy to follow and I particularly like the simple idea of pre-pressing the body and sleeve hems before you start.  This had never occurred to me and it made the final process of finishing a breeze.

IMG_5026
Adding the sleeve, going pin crazy!

The sleeves were easy to insert. I only really make raglans which are super easy on the overlocker so I was a little nervous that these sleeves would be difficult.  Not so!  Saying that, I did go a bit crazy with the pins!

IMG_5027
A lovely smooth curve! Can you see the pre-pressed hem line too?

I also think that I have finally mastered the art of the twin needle top stitch.  I used woolly nylon in the bobbin and finally I got a good result as I usually end up with a bit of a mound.  Not so here, it sits pretty flat.

IMG_5032
Nice bit of top stitching if I do say so myself!

My only gripe is the neckline.  I always make a mess of the neckline.  I often have do it a couple of times.  You can see that it’s not completely even but I can live with that.  I also think that the top stitching should have been on the tee and not the ribbing (you can see I have put one line on each).  It’s only a minor gripe really, of my own doing of course!

IMG_5033
Why can’t I do the perfect neckline?

I really do love this pattern and the fabric was such a great find. It’s from Spotlight and it was on sale so pretty cheap all up.  How can you not love a wigwam or two? The yellow sleeves are a real winner I think, the contrast works so well.  He even put it on straight away with no complaints.

IMG_5039

IMG_5043
Having a little dance

Is it the perfect tee pattern? I would say so, what do you think?

 

 

6 thoughts on “Is this the perfect tee for kids?”

  1. Oh that is great knit fabric for Spotlight! Can I ask how you wind your woolly nylon? I wind it on the bobbin winder of the machine, but don’t run the nylon through the tension disc. I thought this would be adequate to avoid overstretching it. I might just be being lazy though as I have heard it’s best to wind it by hand. Your thoughts??

    Like

  2. I’m so happy you like the pattern so much Kate. Your T-shirt looks fantastic, the double needle stitching looks perfect. Your little boy looks adorable in it. I am really wishing we had Spotlight in the UK, I love those wigwams!

    Like

Leave a Reply

