A jumpsuit and me!

I am a little bit in love with the various indie pattern designers and bloggers in the sewing community. One of my favourites is Marilla Walker. Marilla is a UK based pattern and textile designer with a unique style for cool and comfort. Like me, she has a passion for Japanese and Scandinavian design with modern, clean lines. Unlike me, she is a very talented pattern designer!

Her latest pattern release is the Roberts Collection, with 4 options to choose from; the jumpsuit, dungarees, dungaree dress and woven tee. A few weeks ago, Marilla asked me if I would pattern test her jumpsuit.  You wouldn’t believe how excited I was! (Thank you Jen for recommending me… I love my Instagram friends!)

Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 9.38.14 am

It’s an interesting pattern so I was thrilled to be asked. I popped into Lincraft and bought some lightweight chambray/denim for next to nothing (they were closing down) and off I went.  Having never tested a pattern before I was unsure if I would qualify to make any kind of comment.  But I really liked the process. It sent me back down my production roots and made me really think about what I was doing.

I made up the size 2, but as I am short in the body (and in the legs) I ended up grading down elements of the overall pattern.  Since I made my version, Marilla has removed some of the baggy-ness from the overall fit.  But not enough to change the design, it still has a really relaxed style.

IMG_4413
I only had room for 4 buttons as I reduced the bodice element as I am quite short here.
IMG_4415
The trouser element is very roomy, they are unbelievably comfortable.
IMG_4414
The fabric looks quite shiny here, very 80’s!
IMG_4416
Here’s the back detail which is fabulous.

I thought it would be a complicated pattern but the construction worked well and I was surprised at how fast I sewed this one up. It was fairly straightforward.

I have worn this jumpsuit to death already and I always get a comment.  I am looking forward to making this in a very lightweight fabric for the Sydney summer which is now fast approaching. Now, which one next…. I think the woven tee might be my next love….

Check out Marilla’s blog for some fabulous piccies of her wearing her makes and then pop along to her Etsy site and get your mits on this pattern, you will not be sorry!

6 thoughts

  1. I adore this on you Kate! It’s perfection. Not sure I’ll be making it up. I truly think I’ll look like I should be working in a mechanics, but you cool kids, you make it look so good

    Like

Leave a Reply

