Made Up Initative – sewing for charity!

Oh this is perfect for me, sewing for charity.  I am in!

made-up-logo-ii

The Made Up Initiative is the brain child of the sewing legend and prolific blogger, Did you make that?  The initiative is to support the National Literacy Trust in the UK.  A worthy cause indeed as one person in six in the UK lives with poor literacy.

When you donate, all you have to do is state your self-set challenge and away you go.  The pledge can be big or small it can be sewing, knitting, baking or anything really. The deadline is 10th September. So I donated and set myself the challenge!

My Challenge

I have had this beautiful fabric staring at me with hope and inspiration for the last few weeks and when I saw this pattern, it was a match made in sewing heaven.  My challenge was set!

IMG_3650

The fabric is a beautiful double sided jacquard called Jail Break Beige from Tessuti Fabrics.  It’s quite heavy and has the structure needed for the pattern.  I am a jacquard novice – how is this possible?

The pattern is from the April issue of Burda Style Magazine, it’s the Boxy Top 123B.  I don’t often sew with Burda, mainly because I am lazy and don’t enjoy adding seam allowance!  But it was such a cool shape, I had to give it a go.  The description indicated it was the perfect top to concealing a tummy – this was definitely the top for me!

IMG_3651
Image taken from Burda Style Magazine April 2015

It is also an unusual pattern, the sleeves are attached to the back piece and then come together at the front with a raglan sleeve.  There are only 3 pieces in total, front, back/sleeves and the neck facing.  The most complex bit was finding the pattern on the massive sheet of a thousand lines, it took a while!

IMG_3658
Ahhhhh….
IMG_3659
The unusual back and sleeve piece

Once I had worked out the pattern, it was a straightforward sew.  Having never sewn from the magazine before I hadn’t realised how minimal the instructions were!  A clear head is what’s required. I made it though, in record time and I am thrilled with the results.

IMG_3689

IMG_3693

IMG_3674

IMG_3682

IMG_3694

The Made Up inititive was just the shove I needed to get this project underway.  I am so happy to have participated to this fantastic Trust.

Now, what’s next, I think a pair of culottes would finish this outfit off….

6 thoughts on “Made Up Initative – sewing for charity!”

  1. There are hardly words for how much I adore this! I wouldn’t have looked twice at this pattern in Burda, but on you – swoon. Gorgeous fabric choice. Now I am seriously tempted to make this. And most importantly, thank you for supporting Made Up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

