Look at home in a 90’s rave… for only one dollar!

Ridiculous but true, yesterday I made something for a dollar which I think is just about acceptable to the fashion police (i.e. my 3 year old!)

I had to put aside my gigantic ‘to do’ list last night and do some practical sewing. Bertie has shot up and grown out of everything all of a sudden. I thought I better make him some Hudson Pants or he would be wearing his underpants to playgroup!

I bought this rather unusual sweatshirt fabric from the charity shop. It cost $1 a metre, I splashed out and bought a whole metre! It’s a strange pattern, a bit camouflage, a bit 90’s rave, a bit weird. But Bertie can pull that off – you can pull anything off at 3!

I used my favourite Hudson Pants pattern by True Bias. The only alteration I made was by adding about 3cm to the length to allow for growth.

I added some navy blue for the pocket piece and piped with some bright orange ribbing from Crafty Mama Fabrics. All these bits I found in my scrap box.


I have just enough left to make a sweatshirt or even another pair of Hudsons. Amazing what you can do for a dollar!

2 thoughts

Leave a Reply

