Foliage Friends – craft for reluctant kids!

I have been loving BIG Kids Magazine for a while. It’s an Australian contemporary arts magazine that features the work of children and artists side by side.

Screen Shot 2015-07-10 at 3.53.08 pm

I was flicking through issue no.7 (again) when I stumbled across an article called ‘Foliage Figures’.  It is a project started by Jill Liebhaber, a childrens photographer from Chicago.

The essence of the project is to collect tiny objects and natural bits and pieces that you find, then arrange them into characters up to about 30cm in size, which you then leave for unsuspecting passersby to stumble upon.  She has also kept an awesome Instagram record, you have to check it out instagram/jookiejill. There is often a little story attached to each image. Here are some of my favourites, hard to choose as there are so many.

Screen Shot 2015-07-10 at 3.42.26 pm
Mr Long Arms by jookie Jill
Screen Shot 2015-07-10 at 3.43.08 pm
‘Turtle. Tortoise. Tortuga’ by jookie Jill
Screen Shot 2015-07-10 at 3.43.20 pm
Unnamed by jookie Jill
Aren’t they SPECTACULAR?

I really wanted to do this with the kids.  I struggle to do any craft project with my boys – ironic isn’t it? So, when I find one like this, I know I am onto a winner – it’s quick and easy and involves foraging.  So on a recent trip to a harbour beach, they did a few.  These little critters were a joint effort between my 10 and 3 year old (while the middle one climbed a tree). Well, 2 out of 3 isn’t bad!

IMG_2872
‘Robin Hood’ – it was the feather that inspired that name I think.
IMG_2873
‘Woody’ named by Bertie (age 3)
IMG_2922
‘Geoff’ by Archie
IMG_2921
‘Mono-brow’ by Archie
I look forward to stumbling across some of these very soon!

(Please note: We removed all UN-natural items before we left!)

Leave a Reply

