Ground Control to Major Tom

We love all things ‘space’ in this house.  My 3 year old loves Buzz Lightyear and my 10 year old is fascinated by anything to do with the moon landings.  So in honour of this new found interest, I started a little search and look what I found – the perfect fabric!

Capture_1024x1024

This is a Swedish Digital Knit from Crafty Mamas Fabric called Astronauts.  It is 92% cotton with 8% lycra, so the perfect amount of stretch for a sweatshirt.

I started with a sweatshirt for Archie. I drafted this pattern myself based on his measurements, fairly straightforward to draft and a guaranteed fit.  I thought that just some accents of the fabric would work, so I prepared shoulder panels and incorporated them into the sleeves.  I went for a random pattern on each sleeve, no pattern matching here!  The navy blue fleece is from Remnant Warehouse and the marle blue ribbing was a charity shop find.  I am really happy with the result and surprisingly, so is my very fussy 10 year old!

Navy blue sweatshirt with Astronaut shoulder panels
Navy blue sweatshirt with Astronaut shoulder panels
Planets on one shoulder....
Planets on one shoulder….
Flaming meteor on the other.....
Flaming meteor on the other…..

The second sweatshirt I made was for Bertie.  I used the Brindille & Twig Raglan sleeve pattern again, it’s such a great pattern and so easy.  I thought we could get away with a full sleeve for him – it works really well I think.

We managed to get an Astronaut on one sleeve
We managed to get an Astronaut on one sleeve
Photograph refusal!  On the edge of the great escape...
Photograph refusal! On the edge of the great escape…
IMG_2196
Brotherly love! lol

5 thoughts on “Ground Control to Major Tom”

  1. Mad for a raglan sleeve so you can imagine how I’m feeling about an outer space raglan sleeve. Fabulous fabric Kate.

    Like

  2. I know another little Mr who would love one of those!!! Also particularly thrilled that Bertie is still rocking’ the nail polish! The boys look fab x

    Like

Leave a Reply

