An Ode to the Geranium Dress

If I could write poetry, I would probably write it about this dress.  It is such a gorgeous pattern, I have made it more times than I care to remember.  Every time a friend or relative has a baby girl then I go straight to this pattern and sew away.  Horray for the Geranium Dress by pattern designer Made by Rae. (I know, I know, I mention Made by Rae very often, I promise, there is no sponsorship deal or anything!)

These little dresses are for some very new arrivals, I wanted to give it some perspective, hence my inclusion in the photo – aren’t they mini?

IMG_1885

The ‘coral bird’ dress is for my new niece, Jessie.  I chose this fabric because I made a frock for her older sister in the same fabric. As I bought extra, I felt it only right that they should have matching outfits!  I lined the bodice with the bird fabric and used a plain fabric on the right side.  I only did this because I was short of fabric and had a patch the inside a little.  I think the plain coral panel works really well so am happy with the result.

IMG_1887

The ‘blue bead’ dress is for my lovely friend Sarah’s new baby, Nahla.  This is a block print fabric all the way from Ghana.  Sarah bought it for me many years ago on a trip to visit her family.  I was so surprised that she had bought me some fabric, thinking of me on her trip, it’s so beautiful that I have never had the guts to cut it up until recently. I think it’s only right that she have her first born in something I have made with this fabric.  Isn’t it just beautiful?

IMG_1886

One thought

Leave a Reply

