Brrrr.. Baby, it’s cold outside

It’s getting a little chilly here in Sydney, but luckily the sun is shining so, it could be worse I suppose.  We are woefully ill prepared for cold weather.  As I watch the kids shivering in the playground, I thought it was time to get sewing something warm.

I am addicted to sweatshirts!  Those who know me will know I have a vast collection myself.  This will be one of many sweatshirt posts over the coming months.  Bertie is first off the block.

This is a Brindille and Twig pattern from Etsy, I have made this top many times, it’s fast and easy to construct.  The main fabric is a fleece lined sweat from Remnant Warehouse, I used a little piece of spotty black sweat fabric for the pocket and some grey/blue marle ribbed knit for the collar, cuffs and waistband.  These pieces I picked up at the charity store. I think the whole sweatshirt would have cost about $5 in material.

Raglan sleeve sweatshirt
Raglan sleeve sweatshirt with oversized pocket (don’t put those trains down!)
Raglan sleeve sweatshirt
Looking a little manic!

The sweats are the Mini Hudson Pants by pattern designer True Bias.  A great pattern, as they have room round the hips and taper to skinny – not like those balloon-type sweat pants that you often find in pattern collections in the stores.  Even better, she has produced a grown up version of this pattern, they are next on my (very long) list!

I used the black spotty sweat fabric for these pants, with grey contrasting pockets.  This fabric isn’t as stretchy as the pattern suggests, they won’t last him very long. But, as a first attempt they work quite well.

Mini Hudson Pants
Spotty Mini Hudson Pants
Mini Hudson Pants
The full matching outfit. How very 1980’s! (He’s had enough of the photos!)

6 thoughts

  1. Ooo, just tried to find some ‘cool’ track pants for Luca to wear on those rare occasions he has sport at school. Anything under $20 at the mall…no luck…. But this pattern might pass the Mosman High dress code for sport as well as Luca’s particularly fussy style….Will have to get the grown ups pattern. Those pics of Bertie…you could just eat him up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

