To infinity and beyond…

This was my first ever attempt at making a costume and to date, I think it’s the best one I have made.  Bertie was only 2 when he told me in his jumbled language that he wanted to be Buzz Lightyear.  I haven’t had a kid who was interested in dress up until Bertie came along, so I was up for the challenge.

Like the Captain Barnacles suit (see: Let’s Dress Up!) I used a mixture of patterns.  The pants were my very favourite Parsley Pants by pattern designer Made by Rae.  The easiest and quickest pants to make.  With the top, I decided to add a velcro strip down the back for getting it on and off quickly (catering for the whims of a 2 year old).

I used a cheap white poly cotton and lots of lovely coloured felt. I love using felt, it is so easy to cut and apply. I used both iron-on glue and a row of stitching on each piece.

I also made a jet pack, I found a lovely homemade version on Pinterest.  A couple of bottles, some coloured card, glue and a scalpel knife and there you have it.

The whole project was a real labour of love, but worth every minute – if nothing else, just for these cute photos of Bertie!

Buzz Lightyear costume
I hot-glued a red bike light to the sleeve, just for that authentic laser beam (hours of fun!)
Buzz Lightyear costume
A very proud Buzz Lightyear
Buzz Lightyear costume
The homemade jet pack – I will thank Bertie’s godmother for the tonic bottles!

3 thoughts on “To infinity and beyond…”

Leave a Reply

