I love Liberty

I love a 60’s dress, with those loose waistlines and micro minis. But it’s the fabric that makes this frock, it’s a Liberty fabric called Oxford. This fabric was inspired by a trip to Oxford by the design studio at Liberty with some Alice in Wonderland and 1960’s Liberty scarves inspiration thrown in. Isn’t it just gorgeous?

Liberty of London
Liberty of London Art Fabric – Oxford A Tana Lawn Cotton
Liberty dress
The boat neck dress pattern I finally chose!
IMG_1119
Boat neck detail
IMG_1130
I love an A-line

The best thing about this frock is that in order to buy this fabric I went all the way to Liberty in London to meet my oldest and most stylish friend to choose it! We spent 4 glorious hours wondering through this emporium of delight!  It was a very special day, we drank tea, ate cake, she told me she was getting married (ahh..) and then we pawed over beautiful homewares and exquisite clothes and a potential wedding dress. The most difficult part of the project was choosing the right pattern.  After months (yes, months) of procrastination I settled on this simple boat neck shift dress from the pattern book, Simple Modern Sewing. It is one of my favourite dresses for it’s shear simplicity and the beautiful fabric.

3 thoughts

Leave a Reply

